Part III: Statistical Reports

Statistical Reports (Overall , Step Performance and Resource)

As I mentioned in the Part 2 of my blog on What is new in Rational Test Workbench Eclipse client report v8.6 release. At the end of each test run t he statistical report, live report, and test log are displayed.

If you want to get a statistical report on your device resource of each test run. You have to switch to the performance test runs view tab.  From here, I can quickly view the overall report, step performance report and resource report in details.

  1. Overall Report
    It gives a quick overall run summary of each test run and provide the overall Mobile and Web UI Test health information as as how many of my steps have passed and how many steps have failed, and etc.

If I switch over to my Step Performance tab. I will see the performance report Summary based on the filter that I have configured.

2. Step performance report
It gives me a nice quick summary and breakdown of the response time measurement that it took to complete each step. What is the minimum, maximum and average response time that I get for each step to be completed before it moves to the next

This is very useful for me to help improve my end-user performance experience and help development to better understand what could  potentially be a performance bottleneck in my application based on my tests run. Note: There are a lot more that you can do with the reports that I didn’t write about. There are tons of filters that you can change, modify, add  customize to your report.

step_Performance

Note: There are various configurations that will allow you to customize the look and feel of the graphic of your report as well. IE: Configured your report to use 3D on bar chart and pie chart.

3. Resource Report
This is where I will be able to see my chart report on CPU, Network Received, Network Transmitted, Used Physical memory and Used virtual memory.

To modify the Mobile and Web Performance Counter, all you have to do is right-click on the chart itself, then select “Mobile and Web Performance Counter”

performance_countersThen  select the Counters to add the report. In my case, I want my chart in the report to display CPU, Network Received, Network Transmitted, Used Physical Memory and Used Virtual Memory on my Samsung GT-I9500 device.

MobileandWebUI_counter_filter

By moving the mouse over to each data point on the chart, I will able to see the exact usage information that is happening on the device at that time as well.

Resource_Performance

Leave a Reply

